Thalappil Pradeep is an Institute Professor at the Indian Institute of Technology Madras (IITM), Chennai, India. He is the Deepak Parekh Institute Chair Professor and is also a Professor of Chemistry. He studied at the University of Calicut, Indian Institute of Science (IISc), UC Berkeley, and Purdue. His research interests are in molecular and nanoscale materials. He is an author of over 550 scientific papers in journals and is an inventor of over 100 issued patents. He is involved in the development of affordable technologies for drinking water purification and some of them have been commercialized. His pesticide removal technology has reached about 10 million people. His arsenic removal technology, approved for national implementation, is delivering arsenic free water to about 1.3 million people every day. Along with his associates, he has incubated seven companies and three of them have production units. He is the author of the introductory textbook, Nano: The Essentials (McGraw-Hill) and is an author of the monograph, Nanofluids (Wiley-Interscience) and an advanced textbook, A Textbook of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (McGraw-Hill). He is on the editorial boards of journals such as ACS Nano, Chemistry of Materials, Analytical Chemistry, Chemical Communications, Nanoscale, JPC Letters, etc., and was an associate editor of ACS Sustainable Chemistry & Engineering for ten years. He is now an Associate Editor of ACS Sustainable Resource Management. He has authored popular science books in English and Malayalam and is a recipient of Kerala Sahitya Akademi Award for knowledge literature. He has received the Lifetime Achievement Research Award of IITM and Distinguished Alumnus Award of IISc. As part of philanthropy, he supports a school in his village where 500 students are on rolls.


  • 1992 – 93, Post-doctoral fellow Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory, University of California, Berkeley
  • 1986 – 91. Ph. D from Indian Institute of Science
  • 1980 – 85, M. Sc , B. Sc from Calicut University

Research Interests

  • Molecular and nanoscale materials, clean water, surfaces, instrumentation, business incubation.

Representative Publications

Macropolyhedral syn-B18H22, the “forgotten” isomer, Deepak Patel, B. S. Sooraj, Kaplan Kirakci, Jan Machacek, Monika Kučeráková, Jonathan Bould, Michal Dusek, Martha Frey, Christof Neumann, Sundargopal Ghosh, Andrey Turchanin, Thalappil Pradeep, Tomas Base, J. Am. Chem. Soc., 145 (2023) 17975-17986. (DOI:

Formation and transformation of clathrate hydrates under interstellar conditions, Jyotirmoy Ghosh, Gaurav Vishwakarma, Rajnish Kumar, Thalappil Pradeep, Acc. Chem. Res., 2023, 56, 16, 2241–2252 (DOI:

Phosphine protected atomically precise silver-gold alloy nanoclusters and their luminescent superstructures, Madhuri Jash, Arijit Jana, Ajay K. Poonia, Esma Khatun, Papri Chakraborty, Ankit Nagar,  Tripti Ahuja, K. V. Adarsh, and Thalappil Pradeep, Chem. Mater., 35 (2023) 313-326 (DOI: 10.1021/acs.chemmater.2c03222).

Vertically aligned nanoplates of atomically precise Co6S8 cluster for practical arsenic sensing, Anagha Jose, Arijit Jana, Tanvi Gupte, Akhil Nair, Keerthana Unni, Ankit Nagar, Amoghavarsha Kini, B. K. Spoorthi, Sourav Jana, Biswarup Pathak, and Thalappil Pradeep, ACS Mat. Lett., 5 (2023) 893–899. (DOI: 10.1021/acsmaterialslett.3c00085)

Carborane-thiol protected propeller-shaped photoresponsive silver nanomolecule, Arijit Jana, Parvathy Unnikrishnan, Ajay Poonia, Jayoti Roy, Madhuri Jash, Ganesan Paramasivam,  Jan Machacek, Kumaran Nair Valsala Devi Adarsh, Tomas Base, and Thalappil Pradeep, Inorg. Chem., 61 (2022) 8593–8603 (DOI: 10.1021/acs.inorgchem.2c00186).

Kinetics of inter-cluster reactions between atomically precise noble metal clusters [Ag25(DMBT)18]-and [Au25(PET)18]- in room temperature solutions, Marco Neumaier, Ananya Baksi, Patrick Weis, Erik Schneider, Papri Chakraborty, Horst Hahn, Thalappil Pradeep and Manfred Kappes, J. Am. Chem. Soc., 143 (2021) 6969–6980 (DOI: 10.1021/jacs.1c01140). ​

Manifestation of structural differences of atomically precise cluster assembled solids in their mechanical properties, KorathSugi, PayelBandyopadhyay, Mohammad Bodiuzzaman, Abhijit Nag, ManjapoyilHridya, Wakeel Dar, PijushGhosh and Thalappil Pradeep, Chem. Mater., 2020 (DOI: 10.1021/acs.chemmater.0c02905).

Clean water through nanotechnology: Needs, gaps, and fulfillment, Ankit Nagar and Thalappil Pradeep, ACS Nano, 14 (2020) 6420–6435 (DOI: 10.1021/acsnano.9b01730).

Clathrate hydrates in interstellar environment, JyotirmoyGhosh, Rabin Rajan J. Methikkalam, RadhaGobindaBhuin, GopiRagupathy, NileshChoudhary, Rajnish Kumar, and Thalappil Pradeep, Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. U.S.A., 116 (2019) 1526-1531 (DOI: 10.1073/pnas.1814293116).

Approaching materials with atomic precision using supramolecular cluster assemblies, Papri Chakraborty, Abhijit Nag, Amrita Chakraborty and Thalappil Pradeep, Acc. Chem. Res., 52 (2019) 2–11 (DOI: 10.1021/acs.accounts.8b00369).


  • +91-44-2257-4208 (office)
    +91-44-2257-5938 (students)
  • HSB 148, Department of Chemistry
  • Indian Institute of Technology Madras
  • Chennai - 600036

Honors and Recognitions

  • Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar Prize; The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) Prize in Chemistry; Padma Shri; Nikkei Asia Prize; Fellow of all the science and engineering academies of India, Royal Society of Chemistry, TWAS, American Association for the Advancement of Science, African Academy of Sciences, The United States National Academy of Engineering and Academia Europaea; JC Bose National Fellowship; National Water Award; Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water (PSIPW); VinFuture Prize; Sastra-CNR Rao Prize in Materials Chemistry; Eni Award; International Medal for Materials Science and Technology of MRSI; Eminent Engineer Award of Engineering Council of India​

MORE FACULTY      View All


Associate Professor




Associate Professor