Awards and Honours


  • Dr. G.P. Kane Distinguished Speaker Award, Indian Institute of Chemical Engineers, 2016
  • Elected Fellow, The Academy of Sciences, Chennai, 2016.
  • Rev. Fr. Yeddanapalli Memorial Endowment Award, Loyola College, Chennai, 2016.
  • Golden Jubilee Visiting Fellow, Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai, 2016.
  • Elected Fellow, Madras Science Foundation, Chennai, 2015.
  • Royal Society of Chemistry Service Award, RSC Cambridge/London, UK, 2014.
  • Eminent International Visitor Award, University of Western Sydney, Penrith, Australia, 2010.
  • Elected Fellow, The Royal Society of Chemistry, Cambridge/London, U.K., 2002.
  • Sistla Kameswari Young Scientist Award (Catalysis), Catalysis Society of India, 2002.
  • Mayavati Memorial Young Scientist Award (Solid State Chemistry), Indian Association for Solid State Chemists & Allied Scientists, 2001.
  • Elected Fellow, Maharashtra Academy of Sciences, Pune, 2001.
  • Dai Ichi Karkaria Fellowship, Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai, 1999-2000.
  • JCPDS Award, International Centre for Diffraction Data, Pennsylvania, USA, 1990 : Set 40, No.1204 – 1206.

Loyola Rev. Fr. Yeddanapalli Memorial Endowment Award, Loyola College, Chennai


  • Member, Indo-French Delegation (Catalysis Design by NMR) to Lille (France), 2017.
  • Group Leader, IIT-Madras – University of Manchester Delegation, Chennai, 2017.
  • Member, Empowerment and Equity Opportunities for Excellence in Science, DST, New Delhi, 2016-2017.
  • Group Leader, IIT-Madras delegation to University of Manchester, Manchester (UK), 2015.
  • Honorary Treasurer, Royal Society of Chemistry‒South India, 2015 onwards.
  • Member, Dublin City University’s Research College & Advisory Panel, Ireland, 2014-2016.
  • Member, UK Science & Innovation Network / RSC Delegation to Durban (South Africa), 2014.
  • Member, The University of Queensland and India Delegation to Brisbane (Australia), 2014.
  • Speaker, The New Indian Express ThinkEdu Conclave, Chennai, 2014.
  • Associate Editor, Advanced Porous Materials (American Scientific Publishers), 2013 onwards.
  • Group Leader, Government of India delegation (Catalysis) to St. Petersburg (Russia), 2013.
  • Programme Advisory Committee Member (Physical Chemistry), DST, New Delhi, 2012-2015.
  • Rev. Sr. Annamma Philip Endowment Lecture, Stella Maris College, Chennai, 2012.
  • Professor S. Lakshminarasimhan First Endowment Lecture, A.M. Jain College, Chennai, 2012.
  • German Excellence Initiative – Member, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), Bonn,Germany, 2011.
  • Honorary Chairman & Treasurer, Royal Society of Chemistry-South India, 2011-2015.
  • Group Leader, 3rd Indo-Russian Expert Meeting, Chennai, 2011.
  • Member, Government of India Delegation (Catalysis) to Rostock (Germany), 2011.
  • Professor N. Venkatasubramanian Endowment Lecture, Vivekananda College, Chennai, 2010.
  • Deputy Leader, Government of India delegation (Catalysis) to Novosibrisk (Russsia), 2009.
  • Treasurer, Catalysis Society of India, 2003-2005.
  • Secretary, Catalysis Society of India (Mumbai Chapter), 2002-2004.

RSC Award Web Royal Society of Chemistry Service Award

  • RSC General Assembly 2014, Prize Dinner & Ceremony (RSC President, Dominic Tildesley), 7 November, Radisson Ewardian Hotel, Manchester, UK

DSC_4838  The New Indian Express ThinkEdu Conclave, Chennai, 2014.