Organising Committee
          Contact Us




Thursday 17th August 2017
08:00 - 8:30 AM Registration
08:30 - 9:15 AM Inaugural Function
Welcome Address by Convener, CiHS
Introductory Address by Head, Dept. of Chemistry
Inaugural Address by Dean (Admn), IIT Madras
Address to students by Prof. S. Chandrasekaran
Vote of Thanks by Co-convener, CiHS
 Session - I               Short Invited Lecture (SIL) and Invited Lecture (IL)

Chairperson: Archita Patnaik

09:15 AM SIL-1 M. Jeganmohan
Redox-Neutral Ruthenium(II)-Catalyzed C-H Bond Functionalization of Organic Molecules
09:35 AM IL-1 K. Vidyasagar
Quaternary oxides and sulphides with non-centrosymmetric structures

10:05-10:20 AM Tea break

 Session - II           Invited Lecture (IL) and Student Oral Presentation (SOP)

Chairperson: P. Selvam

10:20 AM IL-2 Sanjay Kumar
Beyond the Born-Oppenheimer Approximation: Molecular Dynamics in Electron/Ion-Molecule Collisions
10:50 AM SOP-1 Jhili Mishra
Understanding the Tween20:cholesterol(1:1) Niosome Membrane through Photophysical response of ESPT and ESIPT molecules
11:05 AM SOP-2 K. Sateeshkumar
Polycationic peptide-Pt conjugates as new anticancer leads
11:20 AM SOP-3 Avinash Kumar
Fate of the chlorinated Volatile Organic Compounds (VOCs) in the Earth’s atmosphere

Chairperson: K. Mangala Sunder

11:35 AM IL-3 S. Baskaran
Oxidative Carbanion Cyclization: Stereoselective Synthesis of Carbo- and Heterocyclic ring systems
12:05 PM SOP-4 Koushik Saha
Bis(sigma)borate and Boratrane Complexes of Group 7-9 Metals
12:20 PM SOP-5 Shanmugam Rajasekar
Enantioselective Synthesis of Dihydro-β-Carbolines from N-Sulfonyl-1,2,3-Triazoles and 2-Vinylindoles
         Lunch 12:35 - 01:30 PM              Poster Session 01:30 - 02:15 PM                
Student Oral Presentation Judging Committee
S. Sankararaman, Dillip Kumar Chand,
R. Kothandaraman
Student Poster Presentation Judging Committee
K.M. Muraleedharan, D. Chakraborty, B. Rajakumar, Arti Dua
 Session - III          Invited Lecture (IL) and Student Oral Presentation (SOP)

Chairperson: G. Sekar

02:15 PM IL-4 Ramesh L Gardas
Regulating the Physico-Chemical Properties of Ionic Liquids for their Applications in Extraction, Absorption and Dissolution Processes
02:45 PM SOP-6 Rajeswara Reddy Mannem
Synthesis of C-analogue of −Glucogallin (BGG) and Biological Studies
03:00 PM SOP-7 Bhanumathi Nagarajan
Novel ethynyl-pyrene substituted phenothiazine based metal free organic dyes in DSSC with 12 % conversion efficiency
03:15 PM SOP-8 K. Anjaneyulu
Copolymerization of Phthalic anhydride with Epoxides using Triethylborane

03:30 - 03:50 PM Tea break

 Session - IV                   Special Lectures
03:50 PM Edamana Prasad
Paradigm Shift in Teaching: The Inevitability
04:15 PM K. Mangala Sunder
Open Online Programs as Open Resources and for Crediting
04:40 PM Concluding Remarks by Edamana Prasad
04:55 PM Prize Distribution by Dean (Academic Research)
05:10 PM Vote of Thanks
07:45 PM Dinner at OAT



© 2017 - Department of Chemistry, IIT Madras