Organising Committee
          Contact Us




Wednesday 12th August 2015
8:00 - 8:30 Registration
8:30 - 9:15 Inaugural Function
Welcome Address by Convener, CiHS
Introductory Address by Head, Dept. of Chemistry
Felicitation to Prof. MNS Rao
Inaugural Address by Dean (AC), IIT Madras
Vote of Thanks by Co-convener, CiHS
   Session - I                          Invited Lecture (IL) and Student Oral Presentation (SOP)

Chairperson: T. Pradeep

9:15 IL-1 N. Chandrakumar
Of Electron and Nuclear Spins, Spin Magnetization, Photons and Transitions
9:45 SOP-1 Anil Kumar Paidi
Structural variants of quaternary vanadates of niobium and tantalum, AMV2O8 and AM2V2O11 (A = mono- and di-valent metal ions; M = Nb, Ta)
10:00 SOP-2 Ashutosh Kumar
Parallel Versus Off-Pathway Michaelis-Menten Mechanism for Single-Enzyme Kinetics of a Fluctuating Enzyme

10:15-10:30 Tea break

   Session - II                        Invited Lecture (IL) and Student Oral Presentation (SOP)

Chairperson: A. K. Mishra

10:30 IL-2 Dillip Kumar Chand
Two's Company, Three's a Crowd?
11:00 SOP-3 Isai Ramakrishna
Mukaiyama Aldol Reaction of in situ Generated Nitrosocarbonyl Compounds: An Easy Entry to ?-Amino Ketones
11:15 SOP-4 Rakesh Verma
Lithium insertion mechanism in Nano NiCo2S4/grapheme composite as an anode material for Lithium ion rechargeable battery applications

Chairperson: Indrapal Singh Aidhen

11:30 IL-3 G. Sekar
Metal Nanoparticles Stabilized by Metal-Carbon Covalent Bonds: An Efficient and Reusable Nanocatalyst
12:00 SOP-5 Dharmendra Singh
GThermodynamic and Solvation behaviour of 1,2,4-Triazolium based aprotic ionic liquids (APILs)
12:15 SOP-6 A. Mohan
Synthesis of Chiral Palladium NHC Complexes and Comparison of Their Catalytic Activity for Suzuki-Miyaura C-C Coupling reaction
12:30 - 2:00 PM                              Lunch and Poster Session
Student Oral Presentation Judging Committee
Indrapal Singh Aidhen, Sundargopal Ghosh, B. Rajakumar
Student Poster Presentation Judging Committee
M. V. Sangaranarayanan, K. M. Muraleedharan, N. N. Murthy
   Session - III                             Invited Lecture (IL) and Student Oral Presentation (SOP)

Chairperson: U. V. Varadaraju

2:00 IL-4 G. Ranga Rao
Architecture of Metal oxide Nanostructures to Improve Energy Storage Efficiency
2:30 SOP-7 Nunna V. Krishna
Acid-mediated Synthesis of Ordered Mesoporous Aluminosilicates and their Applications in Catalysis
2:45 SOP-8 Partha Malakar
Solvent Effects in the Self-Assembly and Gelation of Poly(aryl Ether) Dendrons Containing Hydrazide Units
3:00 SOP-9 Harekrushna Behera
Peptidic Scaffolds for Internally Functionalized Ion Channels
3:15 SOP-10 Soumyakanta Prusty
Reversible Mechanical Interlocking of D-shaped Molecular Karabiners bearing Coordination bond Loaded Gate: Route to Self-assembled [2]Catenanes

3:30 - 4:00 PM Tea break

   Session - IV                                Special Lecture
4:00 K. Mangala Sunder
Online Certification Using Open Course ware: NPTEL Experience
4:30 E. Prasad
Curriculum Alignment: Some Suggestions
4:45 Concluding Remarks by M. N. S. Rao
5:00 Prize Distribution by Dean (IAR)
5:20 PM Vote of Thanks
7:30 PM Dinner at OAT



© 2015 - Department of Chemistry, IIT Madras